Meet the Team

The current line-up comprises a dedicated and enthusiastic bunch committed to the ongoing success of the society. The committee is currently made up of five elected members and four advisor members without portfolio.

Chair | Freya Horsfield


Freya is a landscape researcher, who holds a first degree in Archaeology from UCL, a Masters in Landscape Archaeology, GIS and Virtual Environments from Birmingham University, and a PhD from Durham University which investigated the landscapes associated with Rievaulx Abbey in North Yorkshire. Freya is also a teacher (Fellow, Higher Educational Academy) interested in the development of adult digital skills.

Membership Secretary | Sara Gibson

sara mugshot[747]

A member of TAS since 2014, Sara has served on the committee since 2015 as secretary, then membership secretary. Sara became interested in archaeology when, after many years of being dragged round museums, she discovered the wonders of the British Museum’s European galleries, especially the early Iron Age bronze shields. She retired from her career as a patent attorney and recently completed a Masters degree in conservation of archaeological historical objects at Durham University: more rusty nails than ceremonial bronze shields! Sara also enjoys taking part in occasional archaeological fieldwork as a volunteer.

Deputy Chair & Communications Outreach | Kira-May Charley


Kira joined the committee in 2016 and has been updating the website, Facebook and Twitter page ever since. In January 2020 she was elected as Deputy Chair and also manages the mailing list. Kira also hosts our monthly lectures and attends outreach events in the local area, including being TAS representative at the Council for British Archaeology North and holding a seat on their committee. Having studied history at Teesside University for her undergraduate degree, Kira went on to complete a Master’s degree in Historical Archaeology at the University of York. Her main interest is in the archaeology of the early modern period and in the ways that material culture can be interpreted to understand the social and cultural history of different communities.

Treasurer | Callum Evans


Callum joined the committee in 2019 as treasurer. A History graduate from Teesside University, he enjoys attending lectures and visiting museums. His interests are in the material culture of the Reformation, specifically architecture, and he is currently studying to complete a Master’s degree in Early Modern History at the University of York. As treasurer, he is responsible for all financial aspects of the society.

Bulletin Editor & Event Hospitality | Maureen Norrie

Maureen joined TAS in 2014, and has edited the annual TAS Bulletin for the last few years. She has a life-long love of history, prehistory and of mythology – particularly of these islands – stand after retirement completed a 1st Class BA (Hons) degree in Humanities and Classical Studies with the Open University. This degree course included modules in archaeology and in art history. She loves visiting museums, prehistoric sites, and archaeological sites here and abroad.

Without Portfolio, former Chair | Dave Errickson

Dave Errikson

Dave is a lecturer in forensic archaeology and anthropology at Cranfield’s Forensic Institute, Cranfield University. His background is predominantly in traditional archaeology, having studied at Bradford University where he was awarded a BSc Archaeology and a Diploma in Professional Archaeological Studies. During this time Dave worked as a field archaeologist with Tees Archaeology. Excavations included Street House Farm, Loftus; Catcote’s Roman Site, Hartlepool; and Captain Cook’s Birthplace, Middlesbrough.

He returned to Bradford University to undertake a MSc in Forensic Archaeology and Crime Scene Investigation where his thesis focused on the application of 3D imaging and its application to the forensic decomposition process. In 2017 Dave was employed as a full-time lecturer in forensic science before moving to Cranfield’s Forensic Institute in 2018.

Without Portfolio, former Chair, website assistant | Spencer Carter

With a BA (Hons) Archaeology (Durham), Spencer is a member of the Chartered Institute for Archaeologists (Affiliate), Proprietor at TimeVista Archaeology and Managing Director of Cleveland Archaeology Trust CIC, a not-for-profit heritage & cultural community organisation.

Spencer is an experienced freelance commercial and community field archaeologist, prehistoric stone tool specialist, Honorary Research Fellow in the Department of Archaeology at Durham University, and a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland (FSA Scot). He is past chair of TAS, former committee member, editor and trustee of Council for British Archaeology Yorkshire, and was on the council of RESCUE: The British Archaeological Trust, as an advocate for our archaeology, heritage-at-risk and the profession.

Without Portfolio, former Treasurer | Bruce Webb-Ireland

Bruce works for an oil company in North Yorkshire. He began studying archaeology while working in Dublin however moved back to England to complete his degree, achieving a BA in Archaeology with Leicester University in 2012. An exiled Geordie, Bruce has developed a passion for the heritage of our region.

Without Portfolio, former Treasurer | Mike Butler

Mike was elected to the committee back in the mists of time and served as Treasurer until 2015. He brings a wealth of knowledge and experience to the committee and is Director of Mining and Minerals at Jacobs.

The Committee welcomes your feedback, questions, suggestions and news.